Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether teenagers will be more successful if they jump straight into a job or continue attending university or college after school. Whereas there are persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that students will benefit from receiving a higher education.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why starting work straight after school is considered crucial. Firstly, it allows teenagers to earn money on their own. Accordingly, this makes them live more independently without the aid of parents’ financial support. Secondly, in terms of job prospect, teenagers are early exposed to practical skills related to their chosen occupation and thus have the chance to gain knowledge or learn from real experience. This, as a result, leads to good promotion opportunities as well as a fulfilling job for them in later life.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. To embark on, academic qualifications are now required in various professions. For instance, it is almost impossible to have careers in fields such as medicine, education without meeting the relevant requirements. Therefore, those with a sufficient education stand a higher chance of having access to better job opportunity and they also seem to earn a higher salary compared to those who fail to fulfill the qualifications. Furthermore, the job market nowadays has become increasingly competitive, meaning that there are hundreds of candidates applying for a certain post in the company. In other words, young people that do not obtain a degree from university or college will find it difficult to be offered a job.

By way of conclusion, although there are some compelling reasons to claim that having a career after school is better for students, I reaffirm my state that they are more likely to be successful in their profession if they continue their education beyond school level.