Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to
a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight
after school. Discuss both views.
Nowadays, there has been a growing debate whether it is a better way for young
people to continue study at higher education institutions such as college and
university or to work after graduating from school in order to achieve early
success. While there are benefits to working/ having early employment after high
school, there are also good reasons why students should proceed their education
further.
On the one hand, working straight after school is attractive for several reasons.
Firstly, young people can start making money earlier that those who have to go to
university. Therefore, they can afford their own living expenses, become more
independent and mature. This advantage also helps them to ease the financial
burden for their family. Secondly, those people/ they are more likely to make a
faster/ more advanced progress/ fast track to a successful career since they do not
have to spend many years in university or college. Instead, this amount of time can
be converted to earning working experiences in some specific areas. As a result,
they can be more attractive/outstanding to employers who look for employees that
have/ those having practical knowledge and skills.
On the other hand, there are many benefits to having higher education after high
school graduation. First, universities or colleges prepare/ equip young people
with higher-level qualifications, which is what most employers requirement these
days/ as a certificate for their abilities and knowledge, which most employers
want to ensure/ expect. In addition, as a consequent of globalization, the job/labor
market is becoming increasingly demanding and competitive. Thus, it is obvious
that candidates with eligible qualifications can open the door/ can easily and
securely get access to better employment prospects. Furthermore, university
graduates can expect a much higher salary than those without equivalent education.
For example, in Vietnam, job seekers who hold degrees in finance or medication
are offered impressive salary ranges amount along with other benefits such as
paid holidays, insurance and bonus. However, as a matter of fact, those without
degrees are not trusted for professional positions; instead, they must start from
basic and low-paid tasks to acquire sufficient requirements for the job, not to
mention it may be impossible to become a doctor or lawyer without having the
relevant degree.
In conclusion, it seems evident that working right after school and getting higher
education/ joining the workforce and continuing their education beyond high
school level each have their own unique advantages. People should consider their
career option and individual preference to make the decision regarding this matter.