Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People divide their opinion regarding whether teenagers should hold down a job after graduating from high school or keep on studying further. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument before explaining my perspective on the matter which is that going to college or university is the better option.

On the one hand, working straight after high school is beneficial for undergraduates in some ways. To begin with, they could earn money on their own as well as live independently without being supported by their parents. As a result, the youth not only lessen their parents’ financial burdens but also is more self-sufficient by having the ability to afford their living. Furthermore, having started their career early, they will have the opportunity to fulfill practical experiences as well as inquire vocational skills that are related to their chosen professions. This may bring out a good chance to enhance themselves or get promoted to higher positions.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why people have a tendency of choosing to study further. First of all, academic qualifications are required in several professions. To illustrate, master degree is the minimum diploma for high-paid occupations such as doctors, engineers, business analysts. Moreover, the labor market has become increasingly competitive, and there could be hundreds of applicants for the same position in a company. Indeed, the one who does not have requisite qualifications may have difficulty in competing with their rivals.

In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have their own validity. However, on balance, I believe that studying at university or college is essential for undergraduates as this route tends to be more potential and prospective for youngsters to become successful in their careers.