Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Opinions are divided on whether higher education pursuit is the ideal way to succeed in a career, or whether finding a job after graduation is worth considering. Personally, I understand why people support these schools of thoughts, although I would say it is better to choose to study and work at the same time.

As for those who are in favor of entering academic institutions, these can give them a chance to develop academically and socially through courses or extracurricular activities. Take UEH, for instance, which is one of the high-quality universities in Vietnam. This school of business allows students to participate in as many clubs as they can to sharpen their social skills. Despite the benefits, I would argue that only studying at university or college might not provide students with real experience they need for future employment, for assignments and even projects in clubs fail to expose them to working issues such as how to handle customers’ complaints.

On the other hand, finding job opportunities after school can help learners with such exposure. This can be seen in cafes, where students work part time as waiters. Regular communication with customers lets them boost their problem-solving skills, which might be hardly taught at college or university. Furthermore, part-time jobs are a great way to have sufficient funds, which can cover escalating tuition fees. However, I believe that students can set aside time for both assignments and tasks in their jobs to have experience in both places, and therefore could later highly impress potential employers.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging why some opt for universities or colleges, while others choose work to have a satisfying career, I hold the belief that people should spend time at school and work to become well-rounded individuals, giving them more privileges in the labor market later.