Some people believe that technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that technological advancements have engendered more problems for modern life than what it tackles. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that technologies are beneficial.

Granted, advocates of deeming technology problematic may argue that the proliferation of technologies come at the expense of the rise in unemployment rates. This is because numerous jobs, which used to be performed by humans, are now replaced by artificial intelligence such as manufacturing, driving, assembly, or packaging. However, it is important to note that robots are often used for repetitive tasks and can hardly replicate jobs that require human qualities such as doctor, teacher, flight attendant. Robots, for example, cannot work as a therapist, whose work requires empathy, understanding between people and people. After all, these so-called replacements actually bolster working productivity in light of the superiority of robots and many jobs still demand human presence.

The argument in favor of technologies serving as solutions to numerous issues is further strengthened by its unparalleled conveniences. The bombardment of many state-of-the-art technological inventions has revolutionized many aspects of our lives. For example, without the help of communication applications, people would not be able to keep in contact with their loved ones through such long distances. By the sample token, online shopping has gained traction among citizens, rendering it the preferred shopping method by many. In the past, people had to travel to supermarkets or malls to purchase goods. However, they can now order almost everything they wish with just a click of a button and internet access. This revolution has made the purchasing process even easier than ever before. Finally, distance working or learning are other pronounced benefits of technology. allowing people to eliminate the need for daily mute and offer numerous online courses and study materials without having to travel long distances.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating technologies being harmful than helpful, I would contend that technological advancements have wielded substantial influence on people’s daily lives, considering its conveniences in terms of communication, shopping, working or learning irrespective of geographical barriers.