Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that adolescents need to do volunteer work in their free time as such actions are beneficial not only to the teenagers but also to the society. From my perspective, I do not totally agree with this statement. I believe that teenagers should be rewarded for their time and efforts.

On the one hand, participating in volunteer work can bring several benefits to the youngsters, as well as the community. First and foremost, doing unpaid work is an opportunity for teenagers to improve their social skills, which are extremely useful for them in the future. Young people can learn new things and experience all aspects of the world. Thus, they can be more responsible and mature. Moreover, it is believed that this form of activity can bring economic growth. If adolescents contribute to the unpaid work, that society will be provided with abundant labor resources can help the government save a gigantic amount of money.

On the other hand, I believe that people should not obligate teenagers to take part in non-profit occupations. Youngsters nowadays are already under great pressure to study, their teachers expect them to do homework and exams every day. Therefore, when young people have some free time, parents should encourage them to do what they like to overcome the stress. Furthermore, people sometimes take unfair advantage of youngsters’ contribution. For example, when teenagers do the jobs without salary, some organisations tend to hire them instead of the experienced workers in order to reduce the expenditure on paying employees.

In conclusion, teenagers should be encouraged to do unpaid work during their leisure time. However, it is necessary to reward the youngsters for their contribution to society.