Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language still could be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With today’s development of technology, various translation applications are invented to support communication in different languages; However, being fluent in a foreign language is an advantage for many people. From my perspective, I absolutely agree with this statement and this essay will explain the reasons for my opinion.

First and foremost, knowing a foreign language is an opportunity to promote one’s career success. There are many corporations nowadays which provide jobs for numerous people require their employees to know more than one language. Therefore, being fluent in a foreign language is a privilege for the workers to compete with others and move up the career ladder. For example, the salary of employees who are able to speak foreign language is much higher than those who merely know their mother language.

In addition, language is a useful assistant when people are in a foreign country. Learning a language will remove the obstacles to adapt to a new environment. For instance, if people study abroad or migrate to another country, they will get culture shock. Knowing the official language of that country is beneficial for them to look for help and communicate with others when being in a foreign land. Thus, they will easily overcome that situation and join the community.

Thanks to translation programs, all languages can be translated in a much easier and quicker way and communication between people can be simplified. People nowadays just spend a few seconds transforming text into their mother language. However, these applications are not always accurate, and they also can not translate the context. Hence, people should not rely too much on translation software.

In conclusion, despite some advantages of using translation programs, people should not depend too much on it. And I believe that it is advantageous to learn a new language.