Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that adolescents need to do volunteer work in their spare time as such actions are beneficial not only to the teenagers but also to the society. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this statement, and I believe that teenagers should be rewarded for their time and efforts.

To begin with, that people oblige youngsters to participate in non-profit occupations can detrimentally affect their study and scholastic results. Teenagers, especially students nowadays, are already under tremendous pressure since they have excessive homework and exams to complete everyday. For example, if adolescents are forced to take part in community work, they will not have enough time to finish their assignments. Spending too much time on doing unpaid jobs can neglect their studies; therefore, that may result in poor academic performance at school and impact unfavorably on their future.

Additionally, forcing adolescents to do volunteer work can lead to adverse influences on society. Firstly, people may take unfair advantage of the teenagers' contribution. For instance, because youngsters do the jobs without salary, some organisations tend to hire them instead of the experienced workers in order to reduce the expenditure on paying employees. Moreover, when youngsters are not paid for their efforts, they may feel discouraged due to the lack of motivation. Therefore, that the working productivity decreases can result in slow social development and economic growth.

However, young people should be encouraged to take part in volunteer work because they can acquire many social skills such as: communicating, cooperating, sharing,... which can be useful for their life. Furthermore, I believe that rewards should be given in different forms to praise their contribution and inspire them in attending such work.

In conclusion, it is unreasonable to require teenagers to do unpaid community work. And the youngsters should get recognition of their efforts.