Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A lot of persons accept as true that fixed penalties should be given for variety of crimes. Others, nothwithstanding, opine that circumstances and intent for perpetrating a crime must be taken into cognisance when contemplating punishments to be given. This essay examines both perspectives and shows my personal thoughts on the issue.

Having a fixed penalty for different types of crimes is key to establishing order in the society and a deterrent to criminal minds. When societal punishment is sure for perpetrators of crimes, this will make them think thoroughly about engaging in any type of activities proscribed by societal laws. Invariably, less individuals will engage in crime especially if the penalities are severe. Consequently, peace, stability and harmony will be established in the society, hence a fixed punishment for criminal actions. For instance, According to the 2020 report of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), since January 2020, there have been an 85% drop in crime rate and illegal activities, because of the introduction of the fixed penalty law for different types of crime by the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

It is true crimes are majorly committed with intent. On the other part, it can also be perpetrated without intention or accidentally. For example, an accidental discharge of firearm from a police officer leading to death. For this reason, it is widely believed that the circumstances and motives for committing a crime should be examined thoroughly, not only in assessing a guilty or not guilty verdict but in the deliberation as to the degree of punishment that should be given to the accused. Ultimately, this is seen as a fair process in allocating penalties for each crimes committed because crime actions can take place by mistake and without intent.

In my view, albeit, definate punishments will help in deterring crimes in the society and create order, the circumstances and intent surrounding a criminal offence is absolutely crucial and pertinent in giving out punishments, thus it is regarded a fair process for these variables to be looked at, instead of a mere focus on fixed penalties.