The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The importance of the World wide web cannot be over-emphasized, as such that it has made wealth of valuable information easily accessible to people globally via electronic devices.This essay examines the benefits and drawbacks of this develpment.

A major benefit of the internet is that individuals around the world can easily access news update on important developments. For instance, a person in Brazil is able to know that a terrorist attack is happening in Nigeria through their laptops and smartphone internet, with this an indivudual is more aware and informed of incidents taking place around the world. Furthermore, people are able to gather information on pertinent issues affecting them and use this knowledge to solve their problems. Also, through the power of the internet these information can be shared worldwide, so that others can learn from experience too.

However, a drawback is that, it can be used as a way to commit online fraud. Through the cyberspace, fraudulent individuals are able to hack into company and individuals emails to access private informations such as credit card details to commit crimes. Internet fraudster are very difficult to detect online, particularly in less developed nations, consequently this could have detrimental effects on its vctims such as depression and highblood pressure. According to a 2020 report by the Nigerian Department State Security (DSS), nowadays 85% of crimes in the society are committed online and this has led to poor investment in the country by foreign nationals compared to the 1990s.

In conclusion, the internet is of tremendous benefit and performs key functions globally. It keeps individuals around the globe well informed about current happenings in the world.

Notwithstanding, a disadvantage is that the world wide web can be an avenue for fraudsters to steal private informations of individuals and companies for crime purposes