Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime and the increasing of crime rate is a worrying issue in most countries around the world. There has been a discursive argument that whether government should impose strict punishments on certain crimes or they should take the motivation of the crime into consideration before reaching the decision. My essay will clarify the two opinions and state my point of view.

To begin with, some people believe that fixed punishments can bring clear advantages to the society. If people are aware that they will be subject to certain punishments when they commit to crime, they may be reluctant to convict to heinous acts, which can ensure social safety and security.It can be seen that countries which adopt strict punishment will have a lower rate of crime. Additionally, without fixed punishments, criminals may circumvent the law so that they can avoid the chastisement.

Meanwhile, it is also argued that the judge should decide the punishment based on the circumstances of the criminals. There can be some extenuating motivation for the commitment to crime of some people and judges should consider their motivations since a person killing for self defence cannot be compared to brutal killers. Moreover, it can be considered as being against human rights if the defendants do not have an opportunity to make excuses for themselves or the jury does not examine the driving force behind the situation of the criminals.

In conclusion, fixed punishments are greatly important in deterring the number of crimes in a country. However, I opine that despite the benefits of these punishments, there will be more justice if the judge can consider the motivation or the circumstances of each crime.