Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

It is disputed that punishments should be classified by each type of crime. While the results of the crimes are the same, it might be reconsidered by the reason of the commitments.

The argument can be divided by the conception of consequence and value. The Code of Hammurabi was the earliest document of law which represented the essential of consequential punishments, an eye for an eye. These punishments reveal the victims’ revenge mentality and the eager of the qualified justice. Nowadays, the criminals are still typed by the crime they committed: the crooks, the gangsters, and the murderers. In citizens’ consensus, they wish the government imposes a penalty on crooks, imprisons the gangsters and executes the murderers.

However, the meaning of law is to prevent people from committing crimes, and try to re-educate the criminals; in other words, it is the conception of value. Though the results of murder are similar, the discussion of the motivation is inevitable. Lizzie Borden, a notorious serial killer in America, killed her parents with an ax for escaping from their bullies. In her later years, she contributed herself to religion and donated the fortune for animal protection. On the other hand, Cheng Chieh, the flagitious random killers in Taiwan, committed the murder for the reason “wants to do something big”. It can be clarified the motive as the main question of how to punish the criminals.

In conclusion, though punishments by type of crimes can be simple and direct, the reasons for the crimes should also be taken into account for keeping the main idea of legislating.