In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies.

Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this.

There is a dispute of whether adolescents go to work or travel for a year before they entering the further studies. The advantage and disadvantage in my option are the following.

The idea of work or travel before universities gives the opportunity to observe the pragmatical world. Some people believe that when students finishing their high school could work or travel for a while for the reason of establishing their goals. In Taiwan, for instance, students are required to study for the compulsory education. Most of them even do not know the main idea of studying. The experience of work or travel would provide them a chance to make sure if they are necessary to study further. On the other hand, this is also beneficial for recognizing the major students want to take in the future since the curriculums in universities are more consistent and professional. The decision of majoring could be a pivot to influence the career.

Other people, however, consider that working or traveling in the early age is inappropriate. They are worry about the negative effect on the students. The society has a variety of attraction which could distract their attention from jobs. It is often to hear the news about teenagers who lost themselves when they meet the “adult friends”. In addition, the education of previous studies is basic and theoretical. Young people are therefore hardly to operate in their work. It is easy to anticipate that these novices would be arranged to serve the tea and collect the newspapers.

In conclusion, there are several comments about students should or should not go to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university studies. I believe that there are both advantage and disadvantage, and we should think twice before making any decision.