Some people believe that university students should pay for their tuition fees because university education only benefits students themselves, not society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is believed that students attending university education have to fund their tuition fees for the reason that they benefit from it instead of societies they live in. Although this idea is reasonable to some extent, I would argue that those having free access to tertiary education.

On the one hand, university students should contribute to the cost of their education as they typically reap rewards from their degrees. In today’s knowledge-based society, having a bachelor’s degree would keep graduates in demand as the need for well- educated workers. This means that they can access to better job opportunities and people landing a employment right after leave secondary school could not compete. Moreover, formal qualifications are required in numerous well- paid jobs. Doctors and lawyers, for instanced, who in most countries are among the most wealthy, capitalize on their degree by receiving incomes often far above people without qualifications.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the government should fund student’s education for several reasons. Firstly, society benefits from educating their people, as the latter can contribute more providing vital services and innovations. This is because university graduates are more likely to start companies, employ people, invest in technologies and pay taxes which are essential for an economy to develop. Secondly, some of potential students comes from lower income families, and they might not able to continue post-secondary education if they were forced to pay for their tuitions. By offering free access to their education, governments can ensure that they can contribute to society in many ways, such as social work, community services, and working in the arts sector.

In conclusion, there may be some reasons to supporting students paying for their tuition fees as doing profit individually, I strongly belive that this policy is not without drawbacks and thus should not be implemented by the state.