Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to your children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

participating in extracurriculars is an essential part of the high school experience. however, it is controversial whether unpaid community service, namely doing charitable works or giving free lessons to children, should be compulsory. I am completely in favor of this idea.

it is justifiable to state that participating in projects that benefit the community without being paid should be obligatory. The main reason for this is that such activities outside schools offer students a meaningful lesson about contribution and selflessness, which cannot be taught simply by sitting in a classroom. Apart from this, students who took part in unpaid community campaigns are more likely to have opportunities to extend their social networks and improve their relationships with peers. Owing to this, their high school experience will be more memorable and their social standing in the future might be promoted. Last but not least, since most high schools and colleges necessitate their students to have participated in extracurriculars, volunteering to improve the community for free may be a highlight in the personal profile of a student.

On the contrary, some people are convinced that doing unpaid community service should not be compulsory. Firstly, this may lay a burden on the students who are already struggling with an intense study schedule. Secondly, it is widely believed that doing charitable works without any payment might be considered exploiting child labor as such services are generally exhausting.

To conclude, in order to teach the young generation about selflessness and charity, participating in unpaid community service should be an obligation during high school years. however, so as to not lay great pressure on students, schools should be responsible for arranging these extracurriculars wisely.