some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a general trend in advocating free community services keeps growing throughout the world. There is a prevailing view in favor of supporting the community service, that it should be included in a compulsory part of high school programs.

Certainly, a strong promotion of volunteer community service will be helpful to build up a better society. By the implementation of compulsory community service, vacancies of a number of works such as working for a charity and improving the neighborhood will be filled immediately by a strong supply of volunteers, which, undoubtedly, can be instrumental for maintaining a good and clean community.

This proposition might be conducive to strengthen students’ sense of responsibility to construct a better community as well. As they have a real experience in the community service in person, it might help students have a deeper understanding of the importance of volunteer community service, which probably result in a further contribution.

This measurement, however, is likely to take up much time of the students which they may devote to learn their high school courses or other interests. Volunteer community service can be so time-wasting that students don’t have enough time for their regular homework or preparation for their exams. Then, some students’ personal development can be hindered by the measurement in this way. Moreover, this proposition may result in a detrimental effect on students’ impression of community service, since it doesn’t allow students to make a choice by their own. A bad impression of community service might generate a counter-productive result in terms of what this proposition wants to achieve.

In a conclusion, a good promotion of unpaid community service needs to give student a right to have a free choice depending on their specific situations rather than a compulsory program, which probably can’t have a satisfying outcome.