: Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s undoubtedly a fact that in order for an adolescent to grow into a functional and knowledgeable adult, not only is theoretical education required but also interpersonal along with soft skills have an irreplaceable impact. Henceforth, applying community service into high schools’ curriculum is an absolutely expedient method to cultivate the youth to develop more in terms of social intelligence.

Engaging in public services is evidently fruitful to the young generation as it yields an array of merits. Initially, by lending others a helping hand, students can have the opportunity to keep their ears to the ground about the current issues that our contemporary society is dealing with. Subsequently, they are likely to have more appreciation towards their caregivers who provide their fundamental needs to have a fulfilled life. For example, when a teenager participates in a volunteer program which supplies sustenance to the homeless, he will be able to apprehend how difficult life would be without a shelter or employment and be thankful to what he has.

Additionally, community services are also a compelling means to aid the youth to enhance their social skills. While immersing themselves in the activities, students also are supposed to cooperate with other individuals who are involved. Therefore, their ability to collaborate and communicate with others can be substantially improved. Plus, adding public services into schools’ programs are a brilliant way to make the youth balance between academic demands and volunteer work. Consequently, teenagers are able to learn how to manage their time reasonably. As a result, adolescents will be fully equipped with prerequisite skills that are needed in their future careers as they will have the enough experience to handle with the competitiveness of the work industry today.

As aforementioned, community services are extremely effective to boost the students’ overall development. Because of that, the educational systems, as well as teachers, should create more opportunities for the young generation to take part in those activities.