Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether the high school curriculum should consider community service as an obligatory part for students. While I agree that volunteering for social work is a meaningful thing to do, I also think that this is unnecessarily compulsory.

On the one hand, it goes without saying that social work benefits students at some certain point. First and foremost, students can become more responsible people during the time they serve in community service. For example, when they work for a charity, they have to think about all the people waiting for help such as orphans or homeless people and because of that, they will try their best to raise as much money as possible. Additionally, working on any community service is a huge opportunity for students to learn a lot of real-life experiences and that will raise the chance of receiving scholarships from famous institutions. Last but not least, students should be proud of themselves because they are good citizens when helping people and society.

On the other hand, I also believe that community service such as charity or helping people is supposed to be a voluntary thing not compulsory. Students are from many walks of life, not so many students have the ability to afford full tuition and cost of living so they have to take time to work and study at the same time. Because of that, doing community service consumes their time and money which is spent for their other purposes. Apart from this, they also have to deal with the curriculum at school and other activities which are already frustrated. Finally, students must feel joy and relax when they participate in social work instead of being stressed because it is a compulsory part of high school programs.

In conclusion, I believe that students should serve the community and society to improve themselves and achieve more soft skills but there is no need to make this compulsory.