Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood, or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Recently, volunteer work such as doing charity work, tightening the neighborhood, or teaching the sport to younger children has become a popular trend among groups or organizations, especially attracting many young people. Some people believe those unpaid services must be compiled for high school students. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea because of its two-sides effects.

On the one hand, doing unpaid community work at high school has brought many benefits to students. First of all, those activities help heighten their awareness about sharing and caring with other people, otherwise raising their sense of empathy and dedication. For example, high school students can take care of abandoned, elderly people in the nursing house, or clean the beach by gathering litter and cans on the weekends. Moreover, kinds of volunteer activities strengthen their friendships, make a wonderful, memorable time for them, gain more experiences, and reduce stress during weekdays. Therefore, it should be encouraged and widespread among students.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of compulsory unpaid work in any grade at high school. Taking up too much time on extra activities makes students unable to focus on main subjects, especially the senior ones who will enter the graduating exams. Moreover, when doing unpaid work, which mostly doesn’t have any supporting fee, students sometimes have to pay money for the trip and several activities.

In conclusion, volunteer work is deep, meaningful work, which is necessary for high school students in any grade. However, to lessen the impact of disadvantages, encouraging these activities would be better than making it become a compulsory part of the lessons.