Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there is a debate whether high school students should be obliged to take part in extracurricular activities such as working for a charity, teaching small children sports or developing their surrounding environment. From my point of view, I am in agreement with this viewpoint due to the following reasons.

On the one hand, participating in unpaid community service benefits high school students. First of all, it helps students to collaborate with each other. When joining in these activities, students have an opportunity to build up their social network; hence, their circle of friends is enlarged. Furthermore, working for unpaid community service gives high school students chances to learn more life skills. It helps them to learn how to build up a team effectively, how to help other people, especially younger children, elderly people, and those who are in poverty.

On the other hand, it is believed that extracurricular activities should not be an obligation for high school students because their only duty is studying instead of taking part in unpaid community service. When joining these activities, they not only waste their time but their study is also disturbed. As a high school student, I think that working for non-government organizations is also an educational way. It not only helps high school students to gain more experience, life skills but it is also beneficial in relaxing time. After taking pressure from school examinations, students are in need of taking a rest by taking part in these activities.

In conclusion, high school students must work for unpaid community service as a part of their curriculum due to the aforementioned reasons.