Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High school students are believed to be involved in unpaid public service as a mandatory session at school programme. Most of the colleges have already added part-time jobs to gain working experience for their undergraduates, however, these are not compulsory. In my opinion, sending study to try in unpaid community service is a good idea as it can provide them with a lot of soft skills.

Lifetime experience is very important nowadays. By doing voluntary work, students can learn not only how to communicate with others and teamwork but also the skill of time management and organization. Involving in after-school activities like liberal arts clubs or charity organizations are some suggestion to control both studies and building up social skills. Also, by doing charity activities, healthy life is balance and exercises are done. When we teach homeless kids or go around collecting trash, it means that we do not have spare time to sit or lazily lay down.

Throughout the operation of doing public service, high school students can also master the art of problem-solving skills. By obligating these activities, they are preparing for the future as when they become undergraduates, students will have to face predicaments. Prowesses gain through compulsory work will not the only asset in their curriculum vitae but also increase their employability. Students will treasure the value of money as they know how hard it is to earn money, therefore, help them to use money more wisely.

All thing considered, I am strongly convinced by the suggestion of requisite unpaid public work in high schools. It brings more merits than defects and thus, authorities should quickly put these into action for senior students.