Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although some people think voluntary community service ought to be mandatory for higher school curriculum, in my opinion this is a great way to build moral values and growing socially responsible citizens.

Encouraging social service from an early age as a part of a school activity inbuilt moral values in children. In other words, a child learns about helping by supporting a charity work, they also develop an attitude towards putting other people’s needs before their own and most importantly they realise how blessed they are to have what they have. For example, our school use to take us to orphanage before Diwali to share our old clothes and toys with the orphans. This made us realise how lucky we were to have our parents who work hard to provide for our needs and also inculcated a habit of sharing and giving to less fortunate people.

Moreover, community work practiced by students during their higher schoolings aids in growing responsible citizens for our nations. For instance, many schools take projects such as collecting rubbish and cleaning, this initiates realisation of how we must dispose our waste in bins and not into our environment. As these children grow they implement their learning and awareness about being responsible for their ecosystem into action. In this way we shall create a new generation of mindful individuals and responsible inhabitancy.

In conclusion, voluntary community service will insure that we educate our future generation based on moral etiquettes and individuals with great sense of responsibility towards their surrounding and mother land.