Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that learning a foreign language is only essential if you are traveling or working abroad, other people believe that there are other reasons to learn a foreign language. In my opinion, I consider people learn foreign language due to their inquisitive nature to explore the world and increase their opportunity to secure jobs globally.

On the one hand, some people think that travelers and employee do better know the language of that country and I agree. In other words, acquiring the language knowledge of the state that you are planning to visitor apply for recruitment will aid in fluent communication. For example, many nations only speak their native language, hence if you conversed with locals in their own mother tongue to gather information about the area or ask direction of a destination would become easier. Another reason, to master local language is if you are working in the alien country you need to interact with customers, understanding their language with help to provide better customer service. Therefore, it is beneficial to speak the language of the country you are in.

On the other hand, people learn multiple languages for many other reasons. People are keen to learn about other languages to understand the different cultures or to build relationships with people around them, some even learn a new language because of their interest in language. For instance, people marry and move abroad to settle, in order to fit within the community a person tends to adapt to the surrounding language.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that individuals learn foreign language mainly for either traveling or for employment purpose.