Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that national authorities give great significance to economic development, others are of the opine that there are other areas of development that need equal attention. In my opinion, financial strength is important, whilst the well-being of their citizens and future of their children is of greater priority.

Economic progress surely assists in the advancement of the nation on a global scale. In other words, it creates better opportunities in the international market were money stands for power. For example, if you are financially strong country, you will be desirable by other nations for business proposals. They would want to join you in governs the global networking and trading stock markets.

However, other people believe verity of different development areas must be equally priorities and I strongly agree with this. The government ought to look out for their people by providing best healthcare facilities, offering free education for children and suitable job opportunities for everyone. A nation's economy will automatically increase if its inhabitancy is highly educated with good jobs and healthy. Furthermore, citizens will not be a liability but a positively contributing member of its economic prosperity.

In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe it would be beneficial for state authorities to focus on its inhabitants that contribute towards the state’s economy than only focus on the economic development.