Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been a controversy over the issue of forcing high school students to engage in voluntary activities. In fact, some people argue that such activities, such as teaching to younger and working as a fund-raiser for donation, should become part of their school curriculum to oblige pupils to take part. I, however, do not believe this measure would bring positive effects neither for students or society.

First of all, students should get involved in communal activities with great encouragement and in this case impetus and enthusiasm have been excluded. Consequently, not only students would not enjoy and learn, but the result of the work would not make any significant change to the community. In addition, this unsuccessful effort might leave the participants with a unsatisfying memory which prevent them from joining any voluntary work later on.

Second of all, children should be taught to make money from the very young age by choosing a work that appeal to them. Nevertheless, this unpaid, uninteresting responsibility would not seem to be beneficial for their future careers. For example, a young person interested in accounting should be given the opportunity to join banks or financial organizations to handle some simple accounting tasks while making a small salary. In this situation, the student would learn a profession which s/he might opt as an occupation and more importantly they experience the sense of satisfaction by earning their first salary.

In conclusion, including voluntary tasks as a mandatory part of high school course does not seem wise enough because they could be in opposite direction to students' attraction and inspiration, and would not prepare youngsters for their future occupations. Therefore, voluntaries should stay optional and students should have freedom to choose what kind of contribution they would like to make to their society.