Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that children should be motivated to perform free social work for the progress of their nation. While few individuals opine that, it should be made obligatory for secondary school learners, whereas in my opinion I do not completely agree with this view and will support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, adolescents should be encouraged to provide unpaid welfare services for the betterment of their society. The reason is that it will inculcate a sense of responsibility and affection, which in turn would aid these youngsters to lead a successful life. For example, a study done by the UK news channel in 2011, reported a professional success achieved among those teenagers who were involved in catering for needs of senior citizens in their schools. As a result, they could handle the requirements of old people in the workplace in an efficient manner. However, school pupil should not feel compelled to perform this good act, otherwise, they may avoid it.

On the other hand, I believe students should be given autonomy to choose whether they agree to do service or not. This is because, teenagers may feel burdened, which lead to a lack of enthusiasm and resentment. For instance, in my own experience, during my secondary school, I was forced to do social service of teaching poor children. Therefore, I skipped delivering those lessons by making various excuses. In contrast, children should feel the urge to do good community work from their own heart. Besides that, the effectiveness of community participation has many more determinates apart from willingness. These include the activity design, target population, and intended outcomes.

In conclusion, while it is beneficial for students to do free social service, in my opinion, it should not be made obligatory, but left to one’s own choice.