Few people perceive that bicycles as a primary means of transportation are quite beneficial. Others, in contrast, believe that this has more drawbacks. As per my accord, using bicycles to commute is mostly disadvantageous. This essay analyzes both views and provides information justifying my agreement.

To begin with, bicycle usage has many demerits such as time consumption and these can only cover short distances. Firstly, traveling on these requires a lot of time which is not optimum as today's world is a high paced one. People are extremely busy and do not wants to waste time just to move from one place to another. For example, a bicycle takes almost three times more time to cover a certain distance compared to any other motor-driven vehicle. So, it wastes precious time of passengers who can utilize it for other important purposes. Secondly, practically, a bicycle can only cover short distances. Reaching very distant locations needs huge effort from its riders, thus this is quite exhausting to them. As an illustration, for people who stay miles away from their workplace, it is impossible to go to work on a bicycle. Thus, it is only effective for short journeys.

On the other hand, it also has some advantages like reduction of pollution and it is a good physical activity. Cycling is an eco-friendly travel method as it does not include and fuel combustion and smoke emission. Thus it constitutes a better environment altogether. For instance, villages that have more bicycles have less air pollution when compared to cities that usually use cars and motorbikes. So, it helps in establishing an environment that is free from contamination.

In conclusion, using a bicycle has advantages like reduction of pollution. However, it has more significant disadvantages like wastage of time. Obviously, the disadvantages are more significant than the benefits.