While a plant-based diet is supported by a good many among the general public, some hold a dichotomous point of view. From my perspective, I think a balanced diet needs to encompass both vegetables and meat products.

There are many reasons why a vegetarian diet is considered the optimal choice. First of all, vegetables have been scientifically proven to be highly healthy. Most, if not all, vegetables contain a wide range of vitamins, which are not deteriorated by the human's digestive system and, hence, all the nutrition is kept intact when it goes into our circulation. Secondly, some herbs possess medicinal properties and thereby, serve as a form of natural antibiotics. Such components can help people combat some of the most common diseases, respiratory and cardiovascular issues.

Despite the obvious health benefits vegetables bring to us, I, and some others, strongly believe meat products should be subsumed in our daily meals. Seafood and poultry have by far been our main source of protein and without these products, we cannot strengthen our muscles, joints, and brain functions. What's more? Some of the minerals in meat products are not available in vegetables and should a plant-based diet be upheld rigidly, people will not benefit from these minerals. For instance, the Japanese, whose intake of raw fish is second to none, have the longest life expectancy simply because they make the most of the minerals and proteins available inside these seafood products.

In conclusion, although vegetables provide us with a lot of healthy vitamins, I think seafood and other meat products must still be included in our meals as their nutritious factors are indispensable.