Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a common belief that it is essential for foreigners visiting a country to adhere the customs, whilst some people oppose of this and suggest that cultural dissimilarities should be given a warm welcome by the locals. Before giving a conclusion, I will investigate both angles thoroughly.

On the one hand, following country’s traditions is believed to be paramount. Being a tourist coming to a certain country, researching and obeying local customs can help visitors avoid inadvertent impoliteness to that country and its dwellers. Take Indians as a typical example, they are well-known for using their bare hands when having meals, whereas Chinese is normally more likely to eat with chopsicks as a habit. Thus, if they use chopstick while in India, they may be considered disrespectful. Accordingly, abiding by internal principles is crucial.

On the other hand, citizens ought to accept cultural divergence. They must know that some aliens have their own beliefs and practices which are compulsory not to overstep; therefore, these need to be acknowleged and respected honestly by the locals. Additionally, it provides inhabitants with opportunities to learn about cultural diversity and enrich self knowledge, especially in this era of globalization. Personal cultural norms, consequently, should be widely welcome.

To conclude, following domestic lifestyle and behavior is vitally important since it limits cultural misunderstandings, while individuals should preserve their national indentities as long as not misbehaving. From my perspective, I believe we should strike a balance between the two as both of them are precious and valuable.