Some people believe that women should play an equal role as mean in a country s police force or military force such as the army while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs Discuss both views and give your opinion

Gender equality is being seen in all domains in the 21st century as women are being empowered. While some believe that women should participate in the armed and law enforcement roles equally because they have the ability to perform the same as men, nevertheless, others opine that the road to combat equality is a difficult one for women. I totally agree with the former view.

Women have proved that they are physically, mentally, and morally capable of leading and executing warfare or riot control operations. Furthermore, they are equally capable of men, ranging from front-line infantry positions to high-level special operations roles. For instance, in the modern world of combat (Afghanistan, Iraq), all women serving in the defense are exposed to “front-line risks” and their necessity has been recognized.

Conversely, many believe that due to biological factors, women are not physically as strong as men. They can’t endure the physical and physiological rigors of sustained combat operations and attempting to reach them will over-stretch themselves. They are more vulnerable to abuse by mobs, criminals, or enemies. Pregnancy and long maternity leave can affect military readiness and the society is also not ready for women coming back in body bags.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that both sides of the argument have their merits. In modern high technology battlefields or criminal investigations, technical expertise and decision-making skills are more valuable than simple physical strength. If women are restricted to perform these duties, nations will make the mistake of excluding 50 percent of their population from productive, patriotic duties.