Some people believe that the world should use only one language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the world develops, the demand for a united language is increasing dramatically. Some people argue that human should speak only one language, but others prefer the myriad dialects. While I accept that one language is beneficial to some extent, I must admit that having a variety of languages is also inevitable.

On one hand, the usage of a sole language benefits not only global economy but also education. Firstly, were it not for the various vernaculars, the world would be homogenized. Therefore, economic activities such as free trade, free labor and the free flow of capital investment, which supply employment for many people, will be boosted. For instance, by using English, which is the most prevalent language in the world, workers in Asian nations are able to be employed by big companies such as Microsoft, Google, and Facebook .Secondly, the ubiquity of one language will globally diminish the constraint of communication and language barrier. Thus, students who come from continents such as Asia and Africa can have access to the prestigious universities in America and Europe without taking the standardized examination.

On the other hand, the multi-languages world must be maintained in order to protect the cultural identity of each ethnic community. Traditional customs are said to have a strong connection with regional vernacular. For example, each Chinese word, which acts as a distinct symbol, greatly connects to the national history and culture. .In addition, if the indigenous language were deteriorated, cultural diversity will be in danger.Because of the dearth of conservation of the minor languages, the endemic culture of the ethnic minority living in the deep forest in Brazil is now propelled to the verge of extinction.

In conclusion, even though the commonly spoken language may alleviate the obstacle in using language and make it easier for the economy,the prevalence of languages must be sustained.