Language shapes your ideas, and how you view the world. People develop languages to express what they need to, and it reflects their identity and worldview to a far larger degree than you think.

Here’s an example: in English, a default pronoun for anything alive is ‘he’. This ends up giving you this idea that you have to justify something getting a ‘she’ label. Female characters are criticized for existing and looked over with a ‘but why is this character here/what role do they serve/are they too perfect’ mindset while males just seem standard.

Countries with gender neutral terms of address do not face this problem anywhere near as much, I note. I have noticed gender distribution in media appears more varied when the language does not shove one ‘default’ gender in your mind.

The thing is - we couldn’t really notice this if we didn’t encounter a language that did not do this. Why would we? It’s just how it works! (note: try to use ‘they’ as your default pronoun. It is, in fact, grammatically correct.)

Here is another: color perception. We can all see the same range of colors, but we do not distinguish them the same way. In Greek writing, you’ll read about ‘the white sky’ or ‘wine-dark sea’, reflecting a lack of the word for blue. In Japanese, ‘midori’, or green, existed as a term to reflect something being fresh or new first. Fields and trees were referred to as blue. It was adapted to describe a color long after it was already a word. And this happened because of cultural exchange and mixing.

Having a word for something means you perceive it. Not having a word for something limits your ability to consider it.

This means: with just one language, the flow of different ideas and a means of enriching or growing together comes to a screeching halt. I think we’d face a far darker world than we live in, where cultures are very similar and we would never be able to analyze ourselves from an outside perspective.