Some people believe that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others people think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The zoo – a place which animals are kept – is widely known by most people. Some think that the zoo is cruelty to wild species; however, others think it is of significance in rare animal conservation. I advocate the latter viewpoint and will discuss the two views in this essay.

Disapproval of zoo establishment might be understandable to some extent. Firstly, problems would be exerted among multiple animals in an enclosed area. Stressful and aggressive behavioral patterns are a common reaction. Observing the co-habitation of gorillas in an enclosure at New York Zoo, scientists have seen that the male apes of short and small stature are likely to be bullied by the larger counterparts, causing great panic for them. They have also seen that the frequency of fights between the big gorillas is rather high as compared to those in the wild. These occurrences are a result of many individuals living in the same confined place. Another minus point is zoo species would eventually lose their instinct after a long time. Saigon Botanical Garden has been preserving elongated tortoises by raising younglings then introducing them into the forest after they reach the adult stage. Nevertheless, it is surprisingly found that the released tortoises do not know how to look for food and often suffer from starvation, which shows signs of natural ability lost.

That said, others and I firmly believe zoos are essentially important since they were erected, and especially necessary for animals in today’s world. First and foremost, the species on the brink of extinction could have a sanctuary to live and reproduce. The stag beetles – native insect in Central America, for instance, are almost exterminated due to overhunting for sampling collection. And thanks to the ongoing preservation of the US Governmental Zoo, their populations are thriving these days. Finally, the zoos are valuable educational places, especially for study and awareness raising. Students can have a real-life look at the animals depicted in textbooks and learn about the animal-related habits. Also, by directly seeing the endangered species, they would be deeply ingrained with the sense of animal protection, thus motivating themselves to contribute to animal welfare. Last but not least, the zoos provide employment for a certain number of workers. When a zoo is built, it requires employees for various departments, ranging from normal animal keepers to zoological experts. Hence, job positions are available for people with different backgrounds in society.

In summary, whether or not the zoo is a place of brutality is a debate, and I am truly convinced that it is a vital facility for wildlife conservation.