Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. While others think that they can establish a minority community instead.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is a belief that upon their arrival on a new land, immigrants should be assimilated in the aspect of indigenous culture, whereas some people object to this view by stating that a unique society should be formed. Both perspectives will be analyzed and my standpoint showed in the following essay.

That the settlers should implement cultural facets of a new region is reasonable according to some advocates. The first and foremost reason is to adapt easily to a new environment. To illustrate, the Chinese having moved to the US from the early 20th century have integrated themselves into the local community, resulting in the next generations speak English merely. This is an advantage, specifically in the employment world as they would have the same opportunity to be hired in native companies, work in the same departments with other American employees without any racist barriers. They could also have a chance to be advanced to higher position in the workplace with no discrimination from employers. Hence, for this cause, to some extent, it is a good point.

Nonetheless others and I are convinced that immigrants ought to retain their national identity by creating their own community. To begin with, despite an abstract notion, culture is a spiritual value which deserves to be kept. When a person still holds cultural traditions and customs, he is still a patriotic national. On the other hand, a person forfeiting his cultural traits means he is no longer part of a country. Retaining culture is a sign of retaining one’s nationality and originality. Finally, the formation of minority zones gives vividness to a country. One recognizable example is the USA, which consists of multiple ethnic groups. This is the reason why it is often called a salad bowl. Although immigrants have been residing for a long time, they still maintain their multicultural characteristics, making the entire country colorful in foreigners’ eyes. Each culture varies from one minority group to the others, but they all contribute to the nation’s diversity.

In conclusion, whether immigrants should adopt the culture of a new country is a debate, and I strongly think it is necessary that their own cultures should be kept.