Some people claim that museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Maintaining museums or art galleries remains a major concern nowadays due to throughout the use of a computer, a person can see any historical objects and works. However, I believe that the existence of such place still plays an important role in the cultural diversity of a country.

Nowadays, arm-chair tourism becomes popular, it is easier for ones today to be able to see the whole world through television or a computer without needed to pay a visit on a destination. In fact, there have already existed numerous programs which content is about life before, how the daily life of our ancestor, what is their problems and some about the war previous centuries. All of them are displayed under vivid images and videos, I have to concede that it was made attractable. However, experiencing an object or event throughout multimedia would never be comparable to travelling to an actual place, by viewing a life-size object and surrounding things. Museums and art galleries aimed their best to serve this, not only a historical object that actually be bequeathed by our prior generation, is exhibited, but they also vividly illustrate how useful it is throughout different activities of our previous generation.

On the other hand, while the main aims of museums or art galleries are served as a national memory bank, it also plays a vital role in the educational purpose about country’s custom and culture. In fact, such places attract lots of tourists. It is an initial destination for those who want to explore the history and culture of the visited country. In addition, some museums also collaborate with local people to tell real stories about their grandfather lives, who deeply understand their ancestors. No images nor videos is capable to convey such things. On the other hand, these places can also be served as a destination for weekend family trips where parents can teach their children what our ancestors have done and been sacrificed to keep our peaceful life, which helps them realize how expensive the war is, and such mistake should not be repeated in their future.

In conclusion, although the benefits brought by the advancement of technology in the sense of appreciation for historical works cannot be ignored, maintaining museums and art galleries still have some advantage for residents to capable to feel a full sense about what our ancestors have done before.