Some people claim that museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Maintaining museums or art galleries remains a major concern nowadays due to throughout the use of a computer, a person can see any historical objects and works. However, I believe that the existence of such place still plays an important role in the cultural diversity of a country.

Nowadays, arm-chair tourism becomes popular, it shows a capability of seeing the whole world through television or a computer without needed to pay a visit on a destination. Interestingly, there are numerous programs which content is about the life of our ancestor in previous centuries. All of them are displayed under vivid images and videos. I have to concede that it was made attractable, however, experiencing an object or event throughout multimedia would never be comparable to travelling to an actual place, by viewing a life-size object and surrounding things. Museums and art galleries aimed their best to serve this, not only numerous historical objects which has been bequeathed by our prior generation, are exhibited, but it also vividly illustrates different aspects of their lives.

On the other hand, museums and art galleries also play a vital role in the educational purpose about a country’s custom and culture. In fact, such places attract lots of tourists. It is the most favorable destination for those who want to explore the history and culture of the visited country. In addition, some museums also collaborate with local people to encourage them to expressively tell real stories about their grandfather lives, who deeply understand their ancestors. No images nor videos is capable to convey such things. Furthermore, those places are also be often chosen as an interest destination for family trips at weekend where parents can teach their children what our ancestors have done and been sacrificed to keep our peaceful life, which helps them realize how expensive the war is, and such mistake should not be repeated in their future.

In conclusion, although the benefits brought by the advancement of technology in the sense of appreciation for historical works cannot be ignored, maintaining museums and art galleries still have some advantage for residents to capable to feel a full sense about what our ancestors have done before.