Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Advocates of that idea argue that residents when being in obligation would pay more attention to recycle rubbish. For example, under the pressure of being fined providing that they do not distribute their rubbish to distinct categories, they would be more aware of this action. In addition, factories which are directly responsible for recycling trash would work more efficiently if they have to follow some qualities made by experts from governments. However, new laws would take a great amount of money to be enacted officially, and there are several plausible solutions, which the governments would pay less money, could be pragmatic and effective. In addition, people would feel annoying when the threats of paying fines appear daily.

I support the view that newly enacted laws could not be the only way. Firstly, governments could commence with educating juveniles who are the next generation because they fast learn new lessons. A case in point is that classifying rubbish would have been in their instinct if, in their childhood, parents have taught them it is their responsibility. Besides, another solution could be for authorities of societies that money should be spent on improving the recycling system, specifically factories.

In conclusion, a legal requirement for recycling would have some significant merits, but it would own drawbacks and also consume unnecessarily a great deal of money from tax.