Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is difficult to conceive a sustainable economic growth without a clean and healthy living condition for people. For this reason, many suggest a new legislation on household waste recycling as the only way to protect the living environment. I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, I concur that a law on waste recycling is a promising approach to the problems of waste from households. It is true that when a bill is adopted and made into a law, people undoubtedly pay more attention to it and take it with more serious consideration. If they know that they can be fined, punished or even imprisoned for not obeying recycling laws, they will certainly abide by the laws and take more responsibility for classifying the waste from their homes. This will gradually form a good habit of protecting the surrounding environment among the population. For this reason, more waste from home can be recycled, contributing to a cleaner environment.

On the other hand, I do not agree that this is the only measure to increase recycling because education can be equally or even more effective to solve the problem of household waste. For example, governments should have well-trained teachers impart the knowledge of how to properly recycle household waste to students. Children who receive this knowledge can recycle with a higher level of effectiveness and success than those who do not. Another reason why I do not agree with this new law is that this policy is apparently impractical to low-income families who are already struggling with many problems in their life. A law on treating waste from their homes just places a heavier burden and greater anxiety on them.

In conclusion, the introduction of a new law on treating waste from homes can be an effective measure to some extent, but this would certainly not be the only way and not a feasible measure to unstable income families.