Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public spaces. Other people say that this is not enough and that other measures are needed. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

There are opinion on how to prevent and discourage people from smoking. Some say that making smoking illegal in public spaces is the best way possible. While others claim that more need to be done. Both sides have their own merits, but I am more inclined to the second point of view.

Total ban on smoking in public could reduce the number of smokers. Because some might feel embarressed when smoking where noone else smokes. Or just because they simply don’t want to go against the laws. However, many can still cotinue to smoke at home or in other private areas. So the laws alone couldn’t prohibit this bad habit entirely.

There are some ways way we can do to encourage people to quit this bad habit. To begin, we can use the internet, newspapers, TV chanels,etc to provide people with information provide people information about the harmful effects of smoking, like lung cancer or other respiratory issues, etc. Additionally, some special programs should be held at schools, teaching children about the damage of smoking. By that, not only the adults will see those negative effects and actively stop smoking, but also the younger generations will become more aware of this problem and won’t smoke in the future.

Smoking is a critical problem. And it is hard to convince people to stop doing that. But I believe that laws accompanied by proper educations could do a lot to prevent this problem.