Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Environment degradation is no doubt to be the hottest topic in newspapers nowadays. One of the crucial solutions is to reduce domestic waste. However, some people think that not enough waste is recycled, and therefore, to ease the burden, the government should enforce the laws upon recycling.

There are issues when putting recycling as a law because there is a large amount of waste in the household such as organic waste, liquid waste, hazardous waste, and so on. Thus, not everyone is knowledgeable about domestic waste to classify recyclable and non-recyclable rubbish. Plus, they might expose to dangerous waste that they are unaware of. Yet, not all residents are unable to access this information given the fact that the internet has provided unlimited access to knowledge with just a click.

I believe that enforcing the law on the household recycling cycle will give us a lot of benefits in particular and to the environment in general. Firstly, if the laws are enforced, many people will have aware of environmental problems and their negative ramifications on living creatures' habitats included human beings. Secondly, this also creates a positive routine and habit for a family which avoids unnecessary waste in nature. Take Belgium as an example, while putting taxes on non-recyclable products, they also encourage their people to keep organic waste and turn it into fertilizer. In addition, Belgian authorities charge fees for households that do not classify correctly their waste into different bins. Consequently, this enforcement has brought Belgium with 90% of waste recycled.

In conclusion, I would restate that although there still remain drawbacks with putting recycling as a legal requirement, this solution will alleviating environmental problems and creating green living conditions for living creatures on the Earth.