Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is true that we do not recycle enough of our household waste. Although I accept that new law to force people to recycle could help this situation, I do not agree that a recycling law is the only measure that governments should take.

On the one hand, a new recycling law would be just one possible way to tackle the waste problem. Firstly, governments could make a law for household to divide all waste into different bins. There could be punishments for people do not comply with this law, governments can collect money as a warning, or even perhaps catch repeat offenders. These measures would act as a preventive measure and encourage people to executive the recycling law. As a result, the improved behaviour of household could lead to a clean, waste-free environment for everyone.

However, I believe that governments should do more than simply introduce a recycling law. To begin with it might be more effective if politicians put education, rather than punishment, at the centre of a recycling . For example, children could be taught about recycling in schools, so the children can apply to waste recycling in their life. Moreover, governments could make a law about waste recycling for the companies that produce the packaging for household products. Finally, money could also be spent to improve recycling facilities and systems, so that waste is processed more effectively, therefore people can devide it correctly in the home.

To conclude, perhaps we do need to make recycling a important requirement, but this would certainly not be the only way to encourage people to dispose of their waste more careful.