Nowadays, we live in a society that is highly consumist, therefore recycling is an crucial topic of the present. To increase the participation of population on such movement, some may argue that the government should intervene. In my opinion, laws can affect all people and change is mandatory, if we want a better tomorrow by reducing pollution and it's effects on climate change.

First of all, the impact that laws have, can change whole cultures, if they are properly done. While they influence many people due penalties if non compliance, also can indirectly give rise to more infrastructures that facilitate the access to recycling. Therefore, if a family have a recycling bin outside of their home, it is much easier to persuade them to do the right action, especially if there is a fine if they do not. But not only the law itself should be a reason, also governments should get involved due to ethical reasons, regarding the urgency of the situation.

Furthermore, the climate change and it's impact is a reality that the state must act upon by reducing waste and give the example to other countries around world. Although reduce in domestic garbage is the first step for a bigger change, the promotion of these behaviours must come from the top. Moreover, when a whole country changes, a ball of snow effect begins, giving rise to continents modifications and later the whole world. For all these reasons the laws are one of the best ways to promote behaviour changes.

In conclusion, in a topic of such importance as recycling, the governments should have an active role, contributing with laws that promote individual human behaviour modifications. I also would recommend partnerships between several countries to facilitate and make quicker changes.