Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled and that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people nowadays do not recycle enough household waste. Although enacting a mandate for recycling can have beneficial influences, I advocate that it is not the only measure as it fails to address the underlying cause of environmental issues and other solutions are needed.

The argument in favor of making recycling compulsory is that in doing so, people can be motivated to recycle more. It may not only reduce the amount of waste released but also mitigate air and soil contamination as well as overload landfills. Another advantage is that this method can help humans save the world's resources while being a precursor to preventing energy crises in the near future. However, such reasoning is flawed with pitfalls. If people are legally enforced to recycle household waste, this may confront public backlash and resistance, which can cause them to harbor resentment towards the authorities. As a result, this issue is problematic to pass, especially in places where people are highly protective of their civil rights, such as America. Therefore, to avoid causing tensions among the public, other solutions should be considered.

Instead of forcing people to recycle their household waste, other more feasible measures should be adopted by governments. First, there should be more public education for residents to warn them about the adverse consequences of damaging the environment. Higher public consciousness can be a precursor to other actions to protect the environment, including planting trees and using environmentally friendly products. Moreover, the government had better offer financial incentives to enhance householders’ recycling behavior as well as mitigate the number of waste.

In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that compulsory requirements may not bring desirable benefits; therefore, other steps including more public education and financial incentives should be considered