Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. The say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Write at least 250 words.

A number of individuals state that the amount of domestic waste recycled is still inadequate. According to them, the only route to promote recycling is done by the authorities through imposing laws and legislation to make it compulsory for everyone. To a certain extent, I advocate this point of view.

On one hand, it is fair to say that the laws play an instrumental role in raising the amount of recycled wastage . Firstly, as recycling waste has been projected as optional, many people and even big firms tend to overlook the importance of such process and simply proceed to dump garbage carelessly. By imposing harsh penalties, I believe that such indifferent attitude will change for the better. Secondly, the money generated from fining those who violate the rules can be used as funds allocated for green campaigns to further encourage people to recycle whenever possible. The combination of two measures, in the long term, can make people more careful in their handling with household trash.

On the other hand, I reckon that imposing legislation is not the only answer. To begin with, there are still many disadvantaged families whose members are still illiterate and ill-educated . With the current shortage of personnel for informing these people, relying solely on financial punishment to force them can put them in a precarious position and cause social conflicts. For that reason, I believe that education should be placed at the heart of the efforts to raise awareness of benefits of recycling. For instance, teachers should teach children to put inorganic waste in recycling bins. As children are the future of humanity, this platform can lead to a radical change in the current throwaway society that people are living in.

In conclusion, I believe that there are different avenues to get more waste recycled and making recycling one of the legalities is only an option.