Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, with the widespread use of the Internet, humans can gain unlimited access to global information, even historical items and artworks displayed in museums or exhibitions. Consequently, many people question the importance of memorial houses and art galleries and they believe that these will become inessential one day. Personally, despite the advantages of the Internet, museums and galleries will never be terminated.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that people can derive numerous benefits from the Internet. Firstly, students around the world can learn about historical objects and admire the aesthetic value of artworks of different countries with a laptop or a smartphone connected to the Internet. For example, learners in Vietnam can conveniently enjoy Picasso’s masterpieces on the Internet without travelling to museums in Spain. Secondly, onscreen viewing of historical objects is beneficial for people from a deprived background. It enables them to self-study about the history and art of other countries.

On the other hand, museums and art exhibitions play an indispensable role in human life. Firstly, visiting memorial houses and art galleries provide people with a sense of reality. Visitors can watch the objects on their own eyes or even interact with artists in person, which is impossible when they view through their computers. Furthermore, museums and galleries preserve relics and important artifacts of a country, which can represent its culture. Consequently, the disappearance of the museums will have a negative impact on upholding tradition. Finally, art galleries and museums can attract a host of tourists, hence these places will contribute to economic prosperity.

In conclusion, although the Internet brings some benefits, the role of museums and art exhibitions are irreplaceable. My view is that people can combine computer-based information and experience to enhance their knowledge.