Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will be no longer necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In current times, we can read about and view images of artistically, culturally and historically significant works from anywhere with an internet connection. Some people believe that the advent of the internet has made the existence of art galleries and public museums obsolete. I personally disagree, and my view will be explained in this essay.

The internet has brought us the ability to search for information and images about most things we consider to be historically or culturally significant.(1) This information can be found by using search engines like Google; video streaming sites like YouTube; or regular information websites such as Wikipedia. Some people claim that to obtain information about art, history or culture through one of these channels provides us with sufficient understanding of that particular topic.(2) Therefore, we no longer need museums and galleries. However, I believe the information regarding an object is different from the experience of being in the presence of the object itself. This experience is unique and should be preserved.

Furthermore, the designs of museums and art galleries are usually based on a country’s architectural style. People can enjoy viewing art works and artifacts and learning about the history and art of the country they are visiting while admiring the grandeur of these places.(3) Millions of people visit The Louvre Museum every year not just because it exhibits a huge collection of priceless national masterpieces but also because it is a prime example of the aesthetic appeal of French architecture.(4)

Information about almost any work of art or historical object can be found on the internet today. However, the experience of knowing about something and the experience of being in the presence of that thing are two different ideas. I believe both of them are important and therefore museums and galleries are still needed.