We are all keen on visiting historical and artistic objects wherever possible although the impact of direct viewing has been recently challenged by some people. I strongly believe that remote viewing of such valuable items merely through computers cannot be a practical proposition, and I will outline the reasons in this essay.

To begin with, the museums and art galleries have been seemed to be more beneficial than virtual tours to impart multifaceted knowledge about various realms, ranging from historical and traditional to scientific and social topics. A historical object displayed in a museum can disclose a wealth of information regarding the social conventions and cultural contexts, especially when specialists are invited to lecture regularly about them. Whereas computers may not be able to easily convey such the whole collected information only through a picture.

Furthermore, many historical specimen and artworks have long been maintained in galleries to preserve local cultural identity and tradition which handed down between generations. With the ever-rising using of new technology and computers, many museums and galleries may have to close which is absolutely a potential menace for cultural conservation.

Of course, some may argue that social networks and computers have provided us with a great opportunity to travel throughout history and time to visit not only local historical and artistic collections, but also we can browse for international, historical crafts and items gathered in foreign museums. However, it can never be compared with the human experience of observing them personally.

In conclusion, I believe that museums and galleries are essential for each country to preserve their cultural heritage and present educational exhibitions for visitors which seems to be hardly achieved by computer-based information.