Many people hold the view that schools should place heavy emphasis on teaching academic subjects because they support students’ career in the future. However, I concur with the view that non-academic subjects are of equal importance.

It is undeniable that academic subjects can bolster a successful career path for the youth. Firstly, these kinds of subjects always impart useful knowledge to students. Learning English, mathematics or literature, students will be armed with basic skills and valuable information which are undoubtedly necessary for their future profession. For example, to become an English teacher, one must be knowledgeable about English and must know how to convey information to students effectively. Secondly, today employers tend to prefer selecting applicants who have excellent academic qualifications. This means focusing on the improvement of academic performance, students will be able to graduate from schools with honors, which attracts recruiters.

At the same time, non-academic subjects are significant in students’ learning. In fact, not all the students are able to learn academic subjects well as they prefer and have an aptitude for athletic and artistic field. Thus, being offered room for learning physical education or singing skills, for instance, students are able to develop their natural talent, which means they can be a promising athlete or singer. In addition, learning non-academic subjects helps students release their stress. There is a link between playing sports and emotional status of people, which means that a level of engagement in sports can dispel sorrow and depression that students suffer. Thus, academic performance of students will be improved thanks to positive emotions.

In conclusion, schools should not turn a blind eye to teaching other types of subjects which also play an important role in general and comprehensive education.