It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view

Some people hold the view that the existence of technology leads to the oblivion of traditional culture and that there is no compatibility between them. I agree with this point of view to some extent and this essay will give some reasons.

The various functions and the ease of use that technology offers are the reasons for oblivion of practicing traditional customs, because they make the way people live much easier and more convenient. For example, on Tet holiday, it took Vietnamese people more than a day to make several Banh Chungs – a traditional food that Vietnamese persons have in Lunar New Year – because of its manually prolonging process of preparation and cooking. However, with the help of automated processing machines, Banh Chungs are made easily and are sold as a frozen food in every supermarket, which undoubtedly saves a huge amount of time for people. As there are many benefits that technology can offers, people tend to ignore the long-standing practices.

At the same time, I assume that technology does support culture retention. Technology today are able to remodel the lifestyle of our grandparents’ generations. Forgotten customs and practices can be vividly described and introduced to people through 3-dimension films, for example, which helps people develop a sense of responsibility for preserving traditional values. Moreover, it is believed that technology can put traditional customs, which used to be fallen into obscurity, back on the map. Thanks to the rapid development of internet, people are now well-informed with different regions’ unique cultures which arouse their curiosity. Thus, they would like to pay a visit to those areas in order to gain some fascinating experiences, which reduces the possibility of culture oblivion.