Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, taking several gap years has become increasingly popular among high school graduated students. An increasing number of students choose to travel or work as a volunteer or an intern. In my opinion, this tendency has both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, taking a gap year enables students to have some time out of the curriculum to spend on their dream things. Most students spend their gap years on volunteer, internship, or travel. This practice can provide them valuable experiences, creativity, and even leadership. These mentioned skills are hard to be seen in the majority part of students nowadays. Besides, a couple of gap years also give students time to relax and prepare themselves to cope with higher education.

However, a year off also forces students to face many difficulties. The most significant drawback might be that students leaving school for a time are likely to have less motivation to return to the academic education program. They may go far away from their target as well. Nevertheless, not immediately going straight to university also means that students may lose many golden opportunities given at universities. For example, many universities nowadays link with many companies. Therefore, universities can also give students the chances to work as an intern in that firms.

In conclusion, while a year off brings experiences and relaxation, going immediately to universities also offers many different opportunities. Therefore, taking a gap year brings both advantages and disadvantages that needed to be carefully taken into account.